Clean Eating Update!!

15 May

FLASHBACK TO EARLY 2012………………

Sooooo last time I decided I was going to try Clean Eating, I read this book, and got REALLY pumped!

I ate SUPER healthy for about a week and a half, felt awesome, excited, optimistic about the future and my potential to become happier, healthier, and fitter!  Then suddenly, as my body was detoxing out all the sugar and refined crap I had been eating I felt SOOOOOOO SICK and TIRED and YUCKY!!  How long would this detoxing phase last before I started to just feel good!??  But, wait a minute… AH HA!

 

 

So, it was MORNING SICKNESS!  After a period of eating hardly anything but crackers and lemony drinks, I fell into the classic “I’m pregnant I can eat whatever I want” and thus began the period of sending my husband out for chocolate, icecream, french fries, lemonade, whatever this little mama desired!  Needless to say I did not pick up again on the Clean Eating!

Lukas-9

We had a beautiful baby boy, Luke, in November.  Christmas rolled around and I devoured Nanaimo bars, shortbread cookies, and all sorts of other Christmas baking, in sort of a “last supper” mindset… knowing full well that in January we were going back to business with this Clean Eating.

I READ THE BOOK AGAIN!!  GOT INSPIRED, PUMPED, EXCITED!  And began to cook more clean and incorporate the clean eating principles:
-eat 5 or 6 small meals/snacks a day
-eat protein with a complex carb every meal
-drink water like it’s your job
-cut out all sugar and refined, processed, unnatural foods!

Let’s just say it was an adjustment.  Sugar is in pretty much EVERYTHING.  Ketchup, yup.  Oil based salad dressings, yup.  Yogurt, yup.  If you’re lucky, the ingredient list will just say “sugar.”  Sometimes you have to do detective work and find sugar by it’s other names.  Anyways, I had to learn how to replace these staples with new choices… herbs and seasonings instead of processed condiments, my own oil/vinegar/herb concoctions instead of salad dressing from the store, and plain yogurt with fresh fruit and a drizzle of honey.

BLOGGITY BLOG TIME!  I first started this blog without any clear intentions.  A place to store random thoughts… now I’m reviving it because I’m just about 6 months into my new CLEAN EATING lifestyle and I’m loving it so much, and finding so much success with it, and my head and heart are bursting with new found favourite recipes and I want one place to keep all of them.

So here it is… CLEAN.EATING.MACHINE.  A place to find my favourite recipes, and cleaned up versions of the things you thought would never touch your lips again if you were eating healthy!!

One Response to “Clean Eating Update!!”

  1. Carly Lefebvre May 21, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Awesome Laura. You are looking fantastic and I am excited to keep reading all the lovely things you ahve to say. I am been struggling for the past 3 years with eating and am having such a hard time adjusting my choices. You are an inspiration and I am very proud of you.

Leave a comment